Scientific Advisory Board

The External Quality Assurance Program Oversight Laboratory (EQAPOL) Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) meets annually to dicuss the upcoming year of the EQAPOL contract. During the meeting, EQAPOL leadership and steering committee members from each program present on progress and proposed milestones, followed by lively discussion focused on specific action items to implement for program improvement in the upcoming year. Current board members include Maurice O’Gorman, Dan Kuritzkes, David Barnett, Holden Maecker, and Marco Schito and NIAID representative Jim Lane. 

The Year Nine SAB Meeting was held September 12-13, 2019 in Durham, NC at Duke University. In addition to SAB members, representatives from Vitalant Research Institute (formerly Blood Systems Research Institute, or BSRI) also attended. Overall, the SAB was pleased with the progress made in Year 9 and made several recommendations to continue moving the program forward. 

(L to R: Holden Maecker, PhD, Kent Weinhold, PhD, Jim Lane, PhD, Daniel R. Kuritzkes, MD, Marco Schito, PhD, Tom Denny, MSc, M.Phil, Maurice O'Gorman, PhD MSc)